Content Focus Group - Webinar 1 Question Two

by Joanna Schimizzi 3 years, 2 months ago

(This discussion post is for our "Content Focus Groups" that are participating in a two-webinar series. Other members are welcome to participate as well!)

What was your previous experience with copyright and intellectual property prior to the webinar? How did you previously allow use of your intellectual property? How has your thought process changed?

Melinda Glenn 3 years, 2 months ago

I have had training in OER before.  My awakening(now you know and can't unknow) happened last year.  But it is a good reminder. In the past, I have sharec anything and everything under the idea that I am a teacher and as long as it is for education it is ok.

I do understand now that we must be careful with what we share and post for everyone. Even the lesson plans I helped write for my district belong to them ans cannot be directy uploaded.

I found the OER platform and how to use it confusing last year.  In round 2, it is much more clear as I am building on prior knowledge and experience.

JUNIQUE GREENE 3 years, 2 months ago

I had VERY limited knowldge of copyright and intellectual property before the webinar. I would follow basic instructions but never really thought about it. My process has change because now I take it more seriously. I also will begin to add copyright and intellectual property standards on the things I create and share.

Marylu Ringwood 3 years, 2 months ago