March 23rd Discussion

by Joanna Schimizzi 4 years, 1 month ago

Hello to our Remote Learning Educator colleagues!

Please share two things in your reply! (Please be sure to have your reply be to THIS original post to reduce email notifications.)

1) Introduce yourself (name, what you teach, other ed-related information)

2) Share one resource that you have created that you think you would consider contributing to #GoOpenNC.

Sandy Fidance 4 years, 1 month ago

Hi, my name is Sandy Fidance. I am a teacher at Bunn High in the CTE-Business group. I have been teaching for 13 years, beginning in my home state of Delaware. 

One of my favorite lessons in Economics and Principles of Business is the Circular Flow of Economic Activity prepared by the Federal Reserve Bank. It involves the students moving around the room making deals, either as a business looking for resources to make products or as a consumer looking to sell their human resources in order to have money to buy the product. It is confusing at first, but in the second round things get quite heated as some resources (intentionally) are in short supply. The students then switch roles and we play two more rounds so they get the economic perspective from both angles. I throw in gov't interventions (positive and negative) too in the last two rounds.

Jennifer Aldridge 4 years, 1 month ago

Hello! My name is Jennifer Aldridge. I teach students in IB DP Literature Year 1 (Junior English in the IB program) and IB TOK Year 2 (Senior Theory of Knowledge in the IB program) at North Mecklenburg High School in Huntersville, NC, a CMS school.  I've been in education since 1988 and in the public school classroom since 2006.