Content Focus Group - Webinar 1 Question One

by Joanna Schimizzi 3 years, 2 months ago

(This discussion post is for our "Content Focus Groups" that are participating in a two-webinar series. Other members are welcome to participate as well!)

What is your name, content expertise, current role in education? Which standard from your content area do you feel has the biggest need for resources and why?

Jennifer Cochran 3 years, 2 months ago

My name is Jennifer Cochran and I am a secondary Math teacher at a Charter School.  I teach all levels of math but my main interests in investing time in this Webinar is to help build resources for Math 3 and Math 4.  There are not many resources for this level of Math and it would be nice to help each other to grow resources in this area.

With Math 3 and 4 I think the biggest need for resources is probabaly in statistics, but all the standards could use some resources as well.

Joanna Schimizzi 3 years, 2 months ago

Hi Jennifer --

It's great to have you in the cohort! I think you're right that statistics is a great focus area, especially since it impacts lots of other content areas at the high school level (science, economics, etc!). We're glad to have you as part of this community.

Alicia Conklin 3 years, 2 months ago

My name is Alicia Conklin I am a HS Content Coach in Iredell-Statesville Schools and I also teach a Math 3 course for Virtual Iredell-Statesville Schools. I think right now the focus is definitely on Math 4 (emphasis on the Stats Units). 

ANNA GILLESPIE 3 years, 2 months ago

I could definitely use some PD on stats!  That has been a big push for our district across all levels of math courses.

Hi Alica - We're so glad to have you joining this group of awesome Math educators. Your expertise as a Coach and a Virtual teacher will be so valuable! I hear a theme emerging about Stats!

ANNA GILLESPIE 3 years, 2 months ago